Should a Small Business Hire an Automation Consultant, an Agency, or Do It Yourself?
A small business has four ways to get an automation built, and the price gap between them is wide. Doing it yourself costs $0 to about $30 a month in tool fees, plus your hours. A freelance Zapier expert lists at $30 to $150 an hour, and consultants or agencies from $100 to upward of $300.
The fourth route is a fixed price from a software company. Aibrify's automation service quotes $100 for a single automation, $300 for a tool with its own page and $1,000 for an application with logins. Which route fits depends less on the price list than on who owns the workflow and who fixes it.
This guide compares the four with prices from each vendor's own page or a government wage table, all seen in October 2026. Every figure links to its source.
What Does DIY Automation Cost on Zapier, Make or n8n?
The tools are cheap and the hours are not. As of October 2026, Zapier's Professional plan is $29.99 a month billed monthly and Make's Core plan is $12 a month. n8n's Starter plan is €20 a month billed annually, and all three have a free tier with hard limits.
| Tool and plan | Monthly price, October 2026 | What is included | Where it stops |
|---|---|---|---|
| Zapier Free | $0 | 100 tasks a month | Two-step Zaps only, checks for new data every 15 minutes |
| Zapier Professional | $29.99 billed monthly, $19.99 billed annually | 750 tasks a month, multi-step Zaps | Checks every 2 minutes, extra tasks billed per task |
| Zapier Team | $103.50 billed monthly, $69 billed annually | 2,000 tasks a month, up to 25 seats | Checks every minute |
| Make Free | $0 | Up to 1,000 credits a month | 2 active scenarios, 15-minute minimum interval |
| Make Core | $12 | 10,000 credits a month, unlimited active scenarios | Scenarios stop running when credits run out |
| Make Pro and Teams | $21 and $38 | 10,000 credits a month at the base tier | Same credit rule |
| n8n Starter, n8n Cloud | €20 billed annually | 2,500 workflow executions, unlimited active workflows | Priced in euros, only annual billing shown |
| n8n Pro, n8n Cloud | €50 billed annually | 10,000 workflow executions | Same |
| n8n self-hosted | Published on GitHub | The standard version runs on a server you provide | You handle the server, updates and backups |
The free tiers are where most owners start and where many give up. Zapier Free allows two-step Zaps only and checks for new data every 15 minutes, so a reminder can arrive late. Make Free allows two active scenarios, and on every Make plan the scenarios stop running when credits run out.
The real DIY cost is time. The Bureau of Labor Statistics puts the median wage of secretaries and administrative assistants at $23.23 an hour as of May 2025. Ten hours of learning and building by an office manager is about $232 in wages before the automation runs once.
If it runs, DIY wins on price. If it half-runs, the business pays those hours again whenever a connection expires or a step fails. That is the trade: the lowest invoice and the highest claim on your attention.
DIY fits best when:
- The automation has one trigger and one action, such as a new form entry sending a text.
- Someone on staff enjoys the tools and will still be there next year.
- A 15-minute delay or a missed run costs nothing more than a shrug.
- The data is not sensitive, so an expired connection is an annoyance rather than a liability.
What Does a Freelance Zapier Expert or Automation Consultant Charge?
Freelance marketplaces price Zapier experts from $30 up to $150 an hour; consultants publish $100 to $300 or more. Contra's hiring page for 2026 says Zapier freelancers typically charge between $30 and $150 per hour. Entry-level specialists sit at $30 to $50, experienced professionals at $100 to $150.
Arc's page for freelance Zapier developers, dated September 2026, puts its own freelancers at $60 to $100 or more an hour. The same page notes that general marketplaces go as low as $10 an hour.
Project prices follow the same spread. Contra lists a simple automation across two or three applications at $500 to $1,500. Complex multi-step workflows run $2,000 to $10,000 or more, and retainers $1,000 to $5,000 a month.
Consultants sit higher: NewLeaders, a consulting firm, publishes hourly rates of $100 to $300 and up in its guide to hiring one. Its project fees start at $3,000 for a basic CRM automation setup and reach $50,000 and up for an operational overhaul. NewLeaders puts its monthly retainers between $1,500 and $5,000.
Why do consultants bill so much more than they earn as employees? BLS reports a median wage of $48.97 an hour for management analysts, or $101,860 a year, in May 2025. A $100 to $300 billing rate is two to six times that figure, and the difference pays for unbilled sales calls, proposals and idle weeks.

The chart compares an hour on each route with the office hour it replaces. The table carries the same figures.
| What an hour costs | Low | High | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Median office hour, secretaries and administrative assistants | $23.23 | $23.23 | BLS, May 2025 |
| Freelance Zapier experts | $30 | $150 | Contra, 2026 |
| Aibrify Care plan, per included hour | $37 | $49 | Aibrify price list |
| Freelance Zapier developers | $60 | $100+ | Arc, September 2026 |
| Automation consultants | $100 | $300+ | NewLeaders |
Before paying anyone by the hour, get three answers in writing:
- Which account will the automation live in, and who holds the login after the last invoice?
- Is the quote fixed for a written scope, or an estimate that grows with the hours?
- Who fixes it in month three, at what rate, and how fast do they reply?
What Does a Small Business Automation Agency or Certified Partner Cost?
Agencies rarely print prices; the only dollar figures on the official partner directories are a $297 session and a free call. Zapier's directory, titled Hire a Zapier Solution Partner, showed 31 available partners in October 2026. One of them, Flow Digital, lists a 75-minute implementation session at $297 and a 20-minute discovery call at $0.
Another partner, iSales Solutions, describes "fixed-price projects for defined scopes and hourly retainers for open engagements". The directory itself states that "Solution Partners are not Zapier employees, agents, or affiliates". A Platinum badge marks the top tier, and claims such as "Zapier Certified Expert" come from the partners' own listings.
Make's partner directory ranks partners as Platinum, Gold and Silver, shows no prices and routes every request through a contact form. n8n's expert partner program is still a closed pilot with a small directory. None of the three publishes an hourly rate or a project minimum.
| Directory, October 2026 | Partners shown | Tiers | Prices on the page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Zapier Solution Partners | 31 with the "available" filter on | Platinum badge | One partner lists a $297 session and a free discovery call |
| Make Partner Directory | Not stated | Platinum, Gold, Silver | None, contact form only |
| n8n Experts | Closed pilot | Not stated | None |
A typical agency engagement runs in four stages: a free discovery call, a written proposal, a build of several weeks, then an optional retainer. Using the only published figures, that means a project from $3,000 at the low end to $50,000 and beyond. Afterward, support runs $1,500 to $5,000 for each month on retainer.
An agency or certified partner is the right call when:
- Several departments and tools are involved and nobody has mapped the current process.
- The budget is five figures and a project manager is part of what you are buying.
- You want a brand name behind the work and accept the premium.
Who Owns the Workflow When Someone Else Builds It?
The workflow belongs to whoever controls the account it runs in. The most important contract term is therefore that the build happens in an account you pay for. Here is what each vendor's help center says.
On Zapier, when a member leaves a Team or Enterprise account, their Zaps and connections can go to any other user in your account. On Team accounts only the Owner can do it. The same article warns that a Zap's webhook URL changes with its owner, "because the webhook URL is tied to the Zap owner".
Exporting Zap workflows as files is a Team and Enterprise feature, JSON only, and imported Zaps need their app connections tested and reconnected. Make lets you export a blueprint of the scenario as a .json file, and users still need to create connections after importing it. n8n saves workflows in JSON format, lets you download them from the editor, and the exported file includes credential names and IDs.
Custom code has its own checklist. Ask for the repository, the hosting account and the domain to be in your name, and ask who holds the API keys.
At Aibrify the code, the repository and the accounts belong to the client from delivery, and hosting is optional at $10 to $30 a month. The code can move to any host, and the reasoning is in who owns the code in custom software.
| Route | Where the workflow lives | Can you take it elsewhere? | Put this in writing |
|---|---|---|---|
| DIY | Your own Zapier, Make or n8n account | Make and n8n export JSON on any plan, Zapier on Team and Enterprise | Nothing, you hold every login |
| Freelancer | Whichever account the Zaps were built in | Only if built in your account | Build in the client's account, hand over all connections |
| Agency or partner | Usually your account, sometimes theirs | Depends on the contract | Account ownership, exit terms, documentation |
| Fixed-price software company | Your repository and hosting | Yes, the code and accounts are yours | Repository, hosting and domain in the client's name |
What Happens When the Automation Breaks?
Every route breaks the same way: a connected tool changes, a password expires or a plan limit is hit. The routes differ in who pays to fix it. On DIY, you do, and the tools pause rather than warn.
Make stops scenarios when credits are gone, and Zapier's self-serve plans stop usage once it reaches three times your task subscription until the next cycle. With a freelancer, a fix is billed by the hour again or covered by a retainer, which Contra lists at $1,000 up to $5,000 monthly. With an agency, the retainer NewLeaders describes runs from $1,500 to $5,000 each month for support and maintenance.
Both are reasonable for a system that runs a department and heavy for a reminder that sends itself. Aibrify fixes anything in the delivered scope that breaks, free for 90 days. After that, changes are quoted at the same fixed prices, or a Care plan covers them.
Care costs $49 a month for one hour of changes with a reply in two business days. The $149 plan gives four hours with a reply the next business day, which works out to about $37 an hour. The pricing page lists both.
| Route | Who fixes a break | What it costs you |
|---|---|---|
| DIY | You, when you notice | Your hours, plus whatever the pause cost |
| Freelancer | The freelancer, if available | Hourly rate again, or $1,000 to $5,000 a month on retainer |
| Agency | The agency's support desk | $1,500 to $5,000 a month on retainer |
| Aibrify | Aibrify | Free for 90 days, then fixed quotes or Care at $49 or $149 a month |
How Do You Choose Between DIY, a Freelancer, an Agency and a Fixed Price?
Match the route to three things: how many tools the automation touches, whether it needs its own page or logins, and who will maintain it. The table gives the usual fit and the published cost for each situation.
| Your situation | Usual fit | Published cost |
|---|---|---|
| One trigger, one action, and you like tinkering | DIY | $0 to $29.99 a month |
| One automation and no time to learn a tool | Fixed price | $100, ships in 2 to 3 days |
| A tool with its own page, such as a booking or quote page | Fixed price, or a freelancer | $300 fixed; $500 to $1,500 from a freelancer |
| Several steps across three or more tools, no logins | Freelancer or fixed price | $500 to $1,500 simple, $2,000 to $10,000 complex; $300 to $1,000 fixed |
| Logins, roles and several integrations | Agency, or a fixed-price system | From $3,000 at an agency; $1,000 to $5,000+ fixed |
| Nobody can describe the current process in one page | Consultant first, then build | $297 for a session, $100 to $300 an hour after |
Run the payback with your own numbers before choosing. Suppose an office manager spends three hours a week on manual reminders, at the median administrative wage of $23.23 an hour. That is about $70 a week, or about $3,620 a year.
A $100 automation pays back in under two weeks at that rate. A $1,500 freelance build takes about five months, and a $3,000 agency project about ten. The arithmetic changes with your hours and your wage, but the order rarely does.
Two related guides: spreadsheet automation versus a custom app for the spreadsheet question, and workflow automation for small business for 20 workflows by industry. The market view is in how much business automation costs.
When Is a Consultant Worth $300 an Hour?
A consultant earns the rate when the problem is the process, not the tool. If three people describe the same job three ways, no automation will fix it until someone maps it. That mapping is what the hourly fee buys, and it is cheap compared with building the wrong thing twice.
Signs that an audit should come before any build:
- Work moves between several roles and nobody owns the handoffs.
- A regulator, an insurer or a franchisor dictates part of the process.
- The system under discussion is in the $5,000-and-up class with several integrations.
- Two earlier attempts at automating the job have been abandoned.
A cheap first step exists. A single implementation session, such as the 75-minute one a Zapier partner lists at $297, often settles whether a consultant or a builder is needed. The other cheap step is a one-page brief; how to write a software brief shows the four questions it must answer.
What Does Aibrify Charge Instead of an Hourly Rate?
Aibrify is a software company in Los Angeles that builds automations and custom software for small businesses at fixed prices. Every job gets a written scope and a fixed price before work starts. The ladder has four rungs.
$100 buys one automation: a reminder, a report that sends itself, or a text that goes out when something happens. It usually ships within two or three days. $300 buys a tool on its own page, such as a booking page, a quote sheet or a sign-in form, in about a week.
$1,000 buys a login-protected application, such as a portal or a tracker that talks to the owner's other tools, in two to three weeks. Systems with several roles and integrations start at $5,000 and are scoped together first. The client checks the work on a phone as it comes together.
The automations read a spreadsheet, a form, a calendar, a text message or an email. They send texts, emails or WeChat messages, so they fit the tools you already use. From delivery, the client owns the code, repository and accounts, and hosting with Aibrify is optional.

The table sets the routes side by side on price, ownership and repairs.
| Route | What you pay | Who owns the workflow | When it breaks |
|---|---|---|---|
| DIY on Zapier, Make or n8n | $0 to $29.99 a month in tool fees, plus your hours | You, inside your own account | You fix it; scenarios stop when credits run out |
| Freelancer or certified expert | $30 to $150 an hour; $500 to $1,500 for a simple build | Whoever's account it was built in | Hourly again, or $1,000 to $5,000 a month |
| Agency or consultant | $100 to $300+ an hour; projects from $3,000 | Usually your account; check the contract | Retainer of $1,500 to $5,000 a month |
| Aibrify, fixed price | $100, $300, $1,000 or $5,000+, quoted in writing | You: code, repository and accounts | Free for 90 days, then fixed quotes or Care at $49 or $149 |
Examples of first projects are in automations for $100 and what a $300 tool looks like. The full ladder is on the automation page and under custom software.
To begin, send a short brief of four questions at aibrify.com/start, or a text, email or WeChat message. Aibrify replies within 1 business hour, and no sales call or meeting is required.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
How much does a small business automation consultant cost?
Published consultant rates run from $100 to over $300 an hour, with project fees from $3,000 for a simple CRM setup to $50,000 and up. Monthly retainers for ongoing support are listed at $1,500 up to $5,000. Freelance Zapier experts on marketplaces cost less, typically $30 to $150 per hour.
What is the hourly rate for a Zapier expert?
In 2026, freelance listings for Zapier work show $30 to $50 an hour at entry level and $100 to $150 for experienced builders. Arc's own freelance developers are listed from $60 to above $100. The cheapest general-marketplace listings fall to about $10 an hour, so ask who fixes the workflow later before choosing on price.
Is it cheaper to automate my business myself with Zapier or Make?
In tool fees, yes: Zapier Professional costs $29.99 monthly, or $19.99 on an annual plan, and Make Core costs $12 a month. Both tools have free tiers with two-step or two-scenario limits. The hidden cost is staff time, worth $23.23 an hour at the median administrative assistant wage, and it recurs whenever a login expires.
What is a Zapier Solution Partner, and does Zapier vouch for them?
Zapier Solution Partners are independent agencies or consultants listed in Zapier's directory, which showed 31 partners available in October 2026. Zapier states that partners are not its employees, agents or affiliates. A Platinum badge appears on listings, and wording like "certified expert" is written by the partners themselves.
Who owns the automation if a freelancer builds it in their Zapier account?
In practice the freelancer does, because Zaps and app connections live in the account that holds them. Zapier moves Zaps between users only within one Team or Enterprise plan, and webhook addresses change with the owner. Have every automation built in an account the business itself pays for, with connections made under your own logins.
Can I move an automation from Zapier to another tool later?
Not directly, because each tool reads only its own format. Zapier exports Zap workflows as JSON on Team and Enterprise plans, Make exports scenario blueprints as .json files, and n8n saves every workflow as JSON. Moving platforms usually means rebuilding, which is why custom code the client owns is easier to carry.
What does "done for you" automation cost at a fixed price?
Aibrify's done-for-you automation services are quoted in writing before any work begins. One automation is $100, a page-based tool is $300, an app with user logins is $1,000, and multi-role systems start at $5,000. Anything broken in the delivered scope is fixed free for 90 days, and Care plans cost $49 or $149 a month.
How long does a small business automation take to build?
A $100 automation usually ships inside three days, a $300 tool in about a week, and a $1,000 application within three weeks. Freelance and agency timelines depend on their queue. A typical agency path adds a discovery call and a written proposal before any building starts.



